Mariano Marcos State University — MMSU
where instruction, research and technology
promotion are at their finest.

The Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU) is a comprehensive institution of higher learning in the Ilocos region beginning January 6, 1978 following the Presidential Decree (PD) 1279 in honor of Mariano Marcos, father of former President Ferdinand Edralin Marcos. The decree merged the Mariano Marcos Memorial College of Science and Technology (MMMCST), with campuses in Batac, Currimao, Paoay and Dingras, and the Northern Luzon State College (NLSC) in Laoag City. It also integrated the college departments of the Ilocos Norte College of Arts and Trades (INCAT) in Laoag City and Ilocos Norte Agricultural College (INAC) in Pasuquin in order to restructure, consolidate, and expand the university's academic offering.

The university is relatively young compared to other state universities in the Philippines. However, MMSU’s root anchored deep, its foundation is strong, and its beginnings all proven historical turning points as far back as the early 1900’s.

To date, the university has nine academic units: Graduate School, College of Agriculture and Forestry, College of Aquatic Science and Applied Technology, College of Arts and Sciences, College of Business, Economics and Accountancy, College of Engineering, College of Health Sciences, College of Industrial Technology, and College of Teacher Education. [Read more]